UK floods LIVE: Birmingham Airport closed as lightning erupts and 15 alerts in Scotland

Met Office forecast widespread thunderstorms across UK

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Last week’s heatwave has been swept away and replaced with strong winds, torrential rain and thunderstorms. The yellow Met Office weather warnings occupy the Midlands and North of England as well as almost all of Scotland. In Birmingham, which is currently under a yellow thunderstorm warning, the airport has been forced to close due to the bad weather.

The amber weather warning is currently covering the central spine of Scotland, from the central belt to Inverness.

The shocking thunderstorm alerts in Scotland have now been accompanied by 15 flood alerts, the list of affected areas is below.

A meeting of the Scottish Government’s Resilience Room was held earlier today to ensure preparations and appropriate measures are in place.

Deputy First Minister John Swinney said: “Flooding could happen quickly, even in areas not usually prone to flooding.

“Some communities might become cut off if roads flood, and power cuts might occur.

“Please take extra care if you are out and about, do not attempt to walk or drive through flood water, avoid camping near watercourses and ensure water conditions are safe if spending time in the water.

“The Scottish Government is in close contact with local authorities and the emergency services to ensure people in the affected areas receive the latest information, advice and support where needed.”


18:06 15 flood alerts issued in Scotland, here are the affected areas:

An amber warning for thunderstorms has been issued from noon until 10pm covering the central spine of Scotland, from the central belt to Inverness.

Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA) currently have 15 flood alerts active across Scotland, the affected areas are:

Aberdeenshire and Aberdeen City

Argyll and Bute

Ayrshire and Arran

Caithness and Sutherland


Dundee and Angus

Easter Ross and Great Glen

Edinburgh and Lothians


Findhorn Nairn Moray and Speyside

Scottish Borders

Skye and Lochaber

Tayside Yes

West Central Scotland

Wester Ross

Source: Read Full Article